[Neotropical Ichthyological Association]


List of NIA best student paper award winners
("students who have already received the NIA award") and list of past meetings


2003 Manaus, Brazil, ASIH meeting
2004 at the Brazilian Society of Ichthyologists meeting - oral Vitor Luis Masson, poster Renato H. A. Freitas
2005 Tampa, Florida, ASIH meeting
2007 St. Louis, Missouri, ASIH meeting
2009 Portland Oregon ASIH meeting - oral Robert Javonillo
2010 Providence Rhode Island, ASIH meeting - oral Riviane Gracez, poster Mickey Dehn
2011 Minneapolis ASIH meeting - oral presentation Kristen Brochu, poster Milton Tan
2013 Maringa, Brazil, Brazilian Society of Ichthyologists meeting - first place, oral Pedro Pereira Rizzato and Maria Elina Bichuette
2014 Chattanooga, Tennessee ASIH meeting- oral Benjamin Frable


Winners 2015

Andrea Thomaz of the University of Michigan is the winner of the Best Student Poster Award at our 2013 Annual Meeting held with the Joint Meeting of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists in Albuquerque, New Mexico. 
The title of her poster was Molecular Phylogeny of the Subfamily Stevardiinae Gill, 1858 (Characiformes: Characidae) ­ Major Clades and the Evolution of Reproductive Traits. 
The judges for this competition were John Lundberg, Marc Sabaj Perez and Hernan Lopez-Hernandez.

Spencer Ingley of Brigham Young University is the winner of the Best Student Paper Award.
The title of his paper was Predator Driven Divergence Along the Speciation Continuum in Brachyrhaphis Fishes: Insights from Behavior, Genes, and Morphology.

The judges for this competition were Don Buth, Fernando Jerep and Marc Sabaj Perez.

Congratulations and a cash award are extended to both of these fine presenters. Our thanks also is extended to the judges


Winners 2009

The winner of the best presentation by a student in the NIA session
at the 2009 Joint Meeting of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists in
Portland, Oregon was Robert Javonillo of George Washington University
for his presentation "Evolution of Reproductive Novelties among
Characid Fishes (Teleostei: Ostariophysi) as Revealed by Emergent
Phylogenetic Signal in Molecular Data".  His advisors are John Burns and Stan Weitzman.

The judges this year were Washila Dahdul, Mario de Pinna and Brian Sidlauskas.

We thank the following NIA members who donated funds for the cash
award for the Best Student Presentation.
James Albert
John Armbruster
Jonathan Baskin
Mario de Pinna
Nathan Lovejoy
John Lundberg
Brian Sidlauskas


NIA will be offering awards for the best student paper and poster at the ASIH meeting in July 2010.

Collecting Permits in Neotropical Countries

Photo credits: Nematobrycon palmeri, photographed by S.H. Weitzman & W.L. Fink,
and Gymnogeophagus rhabdotus, photographed by Thomas Schulz.

This page maintained by Héctor Salvador Espinosa Pérez, .For Paulo Petri in nia-net@lists.fas.harvard.edu Last revised september, 2005.